DIY glass bottle and wood vase

Lately I’m getting a lot of inspiration from so many DIY, design, home craft and life style blogs! This time I wanted to make some magic, inspired by Shanty 2 Chic version of bottle and wood vase.

As I still had left some wooden pallets in the back yard, I broke down one of them and used the wood for a base of the vase (like a hit song :D ). I measured 2 pieces of 40 cm and 2 other pieces of 21 cm long and cut them. Then I made 4 holes in one of the longest pieces – that will be the top for glass bottles.

Now it’s the time to sand all the pieces, stick them together, by using a glue for wood, and make it even stronger with some nails and screws.

In the end I stained it, to get a little bit of old effect, and varnished it with a water resistand light varnish. I added to the base 4 glass bottles, that used to be my man’s lovely cider bottles. Done!

I’m totally in love with the result. It looks just great in every place you put it! And even better – this piece of art costed me more or less $ 0 = 0 , because all I used was wood and glass bottle leftovers or things, that I had at home. Love it!

These glass bottles already have very industrial and old school marks with a year of 1887 on the glass, which make the whole vase look even better.

The glass bottles not only stand on the base, but also go a little bit through the holes on the top, so that makes them stand straight and not move at all.

I already know, which is going to be my best Jāņi table decoration. Here’s a tiny introduction in green natural theme :)

 

2 thoughts on “DIY glass bottle and wood vase

  1. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.

    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but
    I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any points or suggestions? Cheers

    • Hey, sorry for my super late answer..
      I’m very honored to receive your question since I’m not the biggest bloger and I am mostly doing it just for fun, myself and friends :)
      Maybe you can write me on my email madara.rube@gmail.com so I can answer you in more extended way.
      Cheers and I’ll wait for you message :)

Comment

